The Last Human by Ink Pieper

Posted: May 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

I got this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Clay always thought that things would work out and he would live happily with his two mothers. All that changes when they are taken away to a government concentration camp basically. Soon Clay is taken too and he is forced to go to the worst one and to try to survive their experiments and the other tortures that they inflict on him and the others who are there.

I’m not even sure what I think about this novel. It had an amazing concept even if parts of it were a bit unrealistic. I just found that it was a bit too dramatic when it came to the diseases and how the countries and the soldiers reacted to all of it. I also doubt that the government would be able to keep the power that they had for as long as they did. Still, I did like the idea of the plot quite a bit.

There are also some nice moments in the novel. Nice as in powerful, not nice as in heartwarming or anything like that. This novel can be very disturbing at time and makes you think about the horrible things that people can do to other people.

I didn’t much like the characters all that much. Clay was okay for the most part. He wasn’t my favorite character in the world, but he was a decent person and I didn’t mind his parts. I also loved Blondie. She was my favorite character in the novel. However, I didn’t like Lily at all even if I do love that name. I found that she wasn’t all that sympathetic. She annoyed me especially toward the end of the book.

The romance in the novel wasn’t all that bad. Even though this doesn’t seem like the type of book that should have a romance somehow it worked. It didn’t take over the plot even if the two characters did care for each other a lot.

Overall I would give this book three out of five stars.

Leave a comment