Anathema by Megg Jensen

Posted: May 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

More of my reviews can be read on my blog <a href=”https://reviewsforthelivingandundead.wordpress.com/”>Reviews For The Living And The Undead</a> . Feel free to follow me. I love when people follow my blog.

Netgalley gave me this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

Anathema by Megg Jensen

Reychel is about to turn fifteen which would normally mean that she is of marrying age, but because she is a slave it means that she is going to be branded with her master’s mark. Reychel is very nervous, but it gets worse when she tells her master a story that leads to him freaking out and locking her up before she gets her branding. However, before she can get it she is recused and freed. But even after she is rescued her master won’t give up looking for her even after he has given up looking for the other escaped slave.

I did like the concept of this novel. I know I say that about most the novels that I review, but that is because I pretty much only review books that I do think that I will like. I thought the powers in this novel were also pretty interesting. Some of them were not what I would consider all that good of powers since the one to tell if someone is keeping something a secret (although I could see how that could be useful at times and it is in the novel), but other ones were pretty good.

One of the problems I had with this novel is it was really predictable. At the very beginning before powers were even explained I already could predict what Reychel’s was going to be just by how her master freaked out. I also had no problems predicting who he was going to marry. The only one that I didn’t predict was Reychel’s relationship with her master, but I’m also not surprised by it. I feel like I should have seen that coming.

I also didn’t like how Jenen handled a certain character. This character seemed like she was a nice person at first and then suddenly it’s like it was decided that she would be pure evil and not have any good traits to her. When this kind of thing happens in a novel it annoys me because it’s not realistic. I like when my villains aren’t pure evil and have some good things about them.

This is minor, but I also hated how the main character’s name was spelled. I wish the author would have just gone with Rachel. Reychel just looks tacky.

This book also had quite a few comma errors in it, which could be annoying at times.

Overall I would give this book three out of five.

Leave a Reply

