The Girl With the Blood Red Lips by V.B. Marlowe

Posted: May 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

Netgalley gave me this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

The Girl With the Blood Red Lips by V.B. Marlowe

Neva has been cursed. She is forced to relive being in high school until she finally manages to break the curse. However, Neva isn’t willing to do what is required to break it since she doesn’t want to hurt anyone else. Still, she hopes to one day find a way to break it or to at least escape from having to repeat high school over and ovber again.

I love fairy tales. I didn’t when I was a child, but recently I have started to love them. I especially like to read retellings of fairy tales and I have written a couple myself which I hope will one day be published. Anyway, because I like fairy tales so much I decided that I would read this book, and I was not disappointed it.

There are some parts of the book that sound like it might be kind of silly and not very good, but the author made the curse work. Even though it might not sound as bad as the curses in fairy tales and it really isn’t that bad, Neva is still going through a lot of things and she is struggling to find out what she should do and to stay a good person. I liked that about her.

The retelling was also not like any other Snow White retelling that I have read before. Some parts of it I liked and some parts of it I didn’t. I did think that the whole high school curse wasn’t as bad as ones in the actual fairy tales, but like I said before it still worked.

I do wish that Hadley and Mia (I think that was their names) wouldn’t have all been bad. It would have been nice if they had more than that to them.

Overall I would give this book four out of five and I am planning to read the next one which is based on Cinderella I believe. I hope that there will be one based on Sleeping Beauty eventually.

Leave a Reply

