Retribution by Amy Thompson

Posted: May 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

Netgalley gave me this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

Retribution by Amy Thompson

Regan has just started college and she is looking forward to making new friends and starting a brand new life. However, not long after she starts she is attacked by someone and finds out that exiles are trying to kill her for some reason that no one knows. Luckily, four men are sent to protect her until they can come up with some other way to keep her safe. Regan wants to find out why people are after her since she considered herself normal before that. She also wants to keep herself from falling for the gorgeous Colter who is supposed to be keeping her safe, but is far from being nice.

I did this thing was an interesting concept, and I was looking forward to reading a good NA book. There aren’t enough NA books that aren’t pure romance. I think that one day there will be lots of fantasy and sci-fi books in this genre, but I don’t know how long that will take.

This book had a few good characters, too. Even though Regan’s roommate is only in a few scenes. I loved her. She is funny and I thought she was a likable character. I also liked Kaiden.

However, I couldn’t stand Colter and I didn’t much like Regan either. I don’t understand why girls in YA and NA novels always fall for guys who are complete jerks. Just because Colter is hot doesn’t mean that Regan should want to be with him right away. Regan also had tons of guys falling all over her which was annoying. It’s not really realistic to have every guy who you meet want to date you.

Another thing that annoyed me were the names of the characters. Some of the characters have had the same names for hundreds of years even though names like Kaiden are modern and were there for not used until recently. They should have more old fashioned names and not super trendy ones.

There were also quite a few grammar mistakes, especially when it came to commas which was annoying.

Finishing this book was also hard. The plot twists I found to be fairly predictable and the novel just didn’t grab me.

Overall I would give it 2.5 but I will round it up to three since I am feeling nice today.

Leave a Reply

