The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

Posted: April 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

More of my reviews can be read on my blog <a href=”https://reviewsforthelivingandundead.wordpress.com/”>Reviews For The Living And The Undead</a> . Feel free to follow me. I love when people follow my blog.

Netgalley gave me this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

Alice was never a super popular student, but she was popular enough to get invited to all the major parties and she had a best friend and a decent reputation. All that is changed one night when the most popular boy at her school starts saying that she slept with both him and another guy the very same night. Alice’s life starts going downhill and it only gets worse as tragedy strikes the school and more rumors are spread.

This novel was truly amazing. Even though you feel bad for Alice the whole time, you also don’t hate the other characters completely. Mathieu does a very good job of making all the characters have their own voice and have reasons for what they did. None of them are completely horrible people. They are all characters with hopes and dreams and they all have positive things about them and also flaws.

As the novel goes on, you find yourself wondering what exactly happened and what is going to happen to Alice later. I found myself feeling bad for her so many times and hating that high school can really be this cruel to some people.

Normally I’m not big into contemporary novels, but I loved this one. I keep thinking about it. I will be reading more from this author in the future. It’s hard to believe that this is her first book. She is so very talented.

Overall, I give this book five out of five.

Leave a Reply

