Throwaway Girl by Kristine Scarrow

Posted: April 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

Andy has had a hard life. As a young child, she was abused by her mother and then eventually put in foster care and then into a home for girls who have been through the foster system and have no where left to go. Now she is trying to start a new life and not become like her mother.

I really enjoyed reading this book even though it is very sad at times. I especially thought reading about why she left her first foster parents was depressing. I really wanted Andy to have a good ending with them. Andy really did have a hard childhood, but despite that she keeps trying to make her life better which I liked about her. Oddly enough, some of the things she did especially when she was younger reminded me of one of the characters in my own books, which I thought was cool.

I read that some people had problems with the romance in the novel, but I thought it was cute. Sometimes people do meet people in odd ways, and so I liked it. I was happy for Andy when I was reading it. It was fairly easy to predict that he was the one she would end up with though, but I don’t think that is really that big of a problem.

I enjoyed reading the flashbacks to her childhood much more than I liked reading about her adult life, but as the book got further along, I started to look forward to reading those parts too and I was really curious about what would happen to Andy and her friends.

Overall I give this book four out of five.

I got this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

