Viola Doyle or An Unconventional Gift by Amy Lynn Spitzley

Posted: April 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

Viola isn’t what her mother would consider a proper girl. She likes to ride her bike very fast down the streets and believes in things such as fairies and dragons. Her mother wants nothing more for her to settle down and find a nice man to marry, but Viola doesn’t want that. Viola’s life changes greatly when her grandmother gives her a very strange pin that apparently there is no way for her to lose. Viola and her grandmother soon try to discover the history of the pin and how it has its powers. Soon they realize that there might be someone who doesn’t want them to find out anything else about the pin and would rather they not have it.

I loved Viola. She is very spunky and knows what she wants. I didn’t get bored reading about her. I liked how she didn’t let anyone force her to be with a man who she didn’t want to be with. I also loved her grandmother. It isn’t very often that a grandmother is important in a story. I actually can’t think of another one off the top of my head.
I received “Viola Doyle or An Unconventional Gift” from Curiosity Quills in exchange for an honest review.

I also found the dragon parts of the novel to be interesting. I had no idea where they were going to go with that and I wasn’t disappointed at the end. I actually didn’t even know that there would be a dragon in this novel when I requested it, but it was a nice surprise. I have no problem with dragons and the author did a good job of writing about them.

There is a romance in this novel, but it doesn’t take over the whole novel. I found it to be very sweet also, and I was hoping that the two characters would end up together.

Overall I give this book four out of five.

Leave a Reply

