The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

Posted: April 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

Like many immigrants, Prenna James has problems fitting in. Like many, Prenna worries that she will always be out of place. However, Prenna isn’t from another country. She is from another time period. Because of a horrible plague that happened in her world along with economic and political issues, Prenna is sent with some others from her time period to 2010 so she can live with a normal life and help change how the future is going to turn out. However, soon Prenna starts to wonder if anyone is really doing anything to change anything or just trying to get used to the new time period they’re in.

Normally, I’m somewhat picky about love stories in books. I actually love writing the romantic subplot in my own books, and sometimes, when I’m reading other books I love them. There are times such as in Richelle Mead’s Bloodline series that I love the pairing and find them to be adorable. However, most of the time I feel like the romance is taking up too much of the main plot.

That was not the case in this novel. Prenna cares a lot about Ethan, but she still remembers the main plot and is determined to help the world. She doesn’t forget everything just so she can have a man in her life. Prenna also doesn’t have every character with a Y chromosome falling for her. Most of the kids at her school don’t even like her.
Prenna does have a female friend though who also came from the future. The two of them talk about many things and not just about males. They both have lives besides just who they are dating. Prenna doesn’t forget about her friend as the novel goes by also.

I also liked how the time travel part of the novel was handled. Time travel novels are hit and miss for me. Sometimes, I like them a lot, but other times I can’t stand them. I liked how time travel was handled in this one. I prefer when the future can be changed and is not just on one set path that has to happen.

The disease in this novel was also very interesting. I wish that it would have been explained more in the novel. I’m not sure if how the disease came to be makes sense because I am not a doctor. However, this disease seems just as realistic if not more so than ones in other YA novels such as Wither.

Overall I give this book five out of five. I really loved it and I am hoping that there will be a sequel.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

