The Wicked We Have Done By Sarah Harian

Posted: March 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

Evalyn was a normal college student a year ago. Now the world believes she is a terrorist and she must go to the Compass Room for a month or to death row. Evalyn decides to do the Compass Room even though she doubts that she will be able to survive the room that can determine whether a person is guilty or innocent. However, she thinks that it is better than waiting on death row. However, once she is there, nothing goes how she thought it would, and soon she finds herself falling for Casey, another person in it. Will the two of them be able to survive or will they both perish?

I see on Goodreads a lot of people didn’t like this book, but I found it to be very good. It is very exciting and I kept wondering who would be the next person to get killed off and hoping that my favorites would somehow b e able to make it. I kept expecting that only two people would survive like in the Hunger Games, which made me sad because I wanted so much more of them to make it. I’m not going to say who makes it and who doesn’t or how many actually do survive.

I loved the characters, especially Jace and Valerie. I liked their love story much more than I liked Evalyn’s. I thought the two of them were really developed especially Jade who you can tell feels very guilty about what happened.

One of the problems I had with this novel is actually the MCs relationship with Casey. I found it to be annoying and a distraction from the main story. It kind of reminded me of Katniss’ relationship with Peeta in the Hunger Games. I didn’t quite get it since she had so many other things to worry about. I know the Jace and Valerie relationship could be criticized for the same reason but I thought those two characters were developed much better than Casey was who I found to be kind of boring.

The novel also is very much like the Hunger Games, which is good in a way but also makes it not very original. At least this series doesn’t have a love triangle at least not yet. I hope that it never does because those are so overdone.

I like that this book is a NA one and isn’t just pure romance like most NA novels are. There is so much that can be done with the NA genre and it shouldn’t be only romance. I’m glad that it seems like other people agree with me.

Overall I would give this book four out of five. I am looking forward to reading the next in the series.

I got this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

