Darkside Sun by Jocelyn Adams

Posted: March 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

Addison has seen things she shouldn’t see since she was six, but even though the things she has seen have horrified her, she has done her best to live a normal life. Now she is in college and doing her best to manage the horrifying images and get a degree. However, when her professor finds out about what she has been seeing, she is pulled deep into an organization meant to stop the horrifying creatures, but Addison isn’t sure that she wants to do this even if her professor is super hot.
When I requested this book I thought that it was going to be way different than it actually was. I thought it would be more about Addison dealing with what she sees while still going to college, but that is not the case. Still, the whole Machine was an interesting idea. I loved some of the characters in the book too especially her best friend in the machine.
Addison was also an okay character. I liked how she actually got along with her father and she worried about him a lot. It seems like characters ignore their parents in a lot of books and it was nice that wasn’t the case in this one.
I couldn’t stand Asher however. I thought he was okay when he was first introduced. Yes, he was an asshole, but I could deal with that. As the book went on he just seemed to get worse and worse and even though he does get a bit better at the end, I just can’t forgive him for all the things he did. I don’t understand why some people find love interests like him to be so hot. I don’t. I think he’s just a jerk.
I also found some of the aspects of the machine to be unrealistic or at least underdeveloped. I don’t want to go too much in depth about this since it would mean I would have to tell spoilers.
Despite that I didn’t like this book and have no plans to read its sequel, I do think that there are others that it might appeal to. However, I am only going to give it two out of five.
I got this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

