Breaking Free: True Stories of Girls Who Escaped Modern Slavery by Abby Sher

Posted: March 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

Breaking Free: True Stories of Girls Who Escaped Modern Slavery is about three girls who survived human trafficking and managed to escape. Even though these girls have gone through horrible things, they are not all that different than any other girl. They have just gone through horrible things that could have happened to anyone if they were in the same situation as them. Still it is amazing how strong the women are and how they are now dedicating their lives to helping people.
I am going to start off by saying like I did up above that this book is amazing. I found all three of the stories to be sad, but I was also moved that they were able to help other people who have gone through the same things. I think this is the kind of book that people should read in schools. Not enough people know about human trafficking and instead believe that slavery is only something in the past or they believe that human trafficking can only happen in other countries and not their own. That is not the case.
Even though this is a non-fiction book it is not boring and is very easy to read. It explains a lot about human trafficking and this book doesn’t talk down to the readers. At the end it also tells how teenagers can help end human trafficking.
Ending human trafficking is an important cause and I have included human trafficking in some of my novels. I am glad that I got the chance to read this book because I got the chance to learn even more about the issue and it really was an amazing book that lots of people should read.
Overall I would give this amazing book five out of five. I would recommend it to pretty much anyone, since everyone needs to know about human trafficking.
I got this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

