Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

Posted: March 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

Monument 14 is about a boy name Dean who is just on his way to school when suddenly a huge hail storm strikes the bus he is traveling on forcing them to take refuge in the nearest store. Soon the only adult in the group leaves in order to get help and the teens and children are left all by themselves with no one to help them survive. Not only do they have to worry about the disasters that keep occurring outside and people who might want to break in and harm them but they also struggle with teen drama.
    When I read the back of this book at Barnes and Nobles, I knew that it sounded like one that I liked. I love books where teens have to survive natural disasters on their own, and I think living in a giant store would be fun. I’ve actually wanted to write a story when people are stuck in a store by themselves, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. This story didn’t disappoint either. Many of the things that happened are what I imagine might if teenagers were stuck in a store. I also liked reading about what they did with the place.
    I found the chemical spill to be very interesting, too, especially when I found out what it did. It made me wonder what my blood type is and what would happened to me if I was there. I still don’t know my blood type, so I also wouldn’t know what my reaction would be just like many of the characters.
    There wasn’t much that I didn’t like about this book, but I suppose that some of the characters did act a bit too mature for their age at times, especially the children. Also it was a bit unrealistic that Niko could do as much as he could. I was in Girl Scouts when I was a kid and I can’t do much of anything.
    Overall I would give this book four out of five. I liked it a lot and I am going to be reading the sequel as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

